and Four Decades of Life

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I turned 40 this year!  It doesn´t feel much different than thirty-nine.  I do notice the following signs of aging:

  • A dark spot on my face!  I think it’s an aging spot.  I told my mother-in-law about it and she recommended an aging spot lighting cream.  Ha!  I’m getting old!
  • My teeth are not as straight as they were when I was fifteen or sixteen years old! Oh…. I wish I had taken care of my retainers and been diligent in keeping them on at night.  Now my 12 year-old daughter is in need of braces and it is SO expensive – around $6,000 for a two year treatment.  Ouch!  In Honduras, they are much much much cheaper.  Why did we move?
  • I have a cana (gray hair).  It’s just one, though.
  • I have forgotten how to solve college algebra equations.  We are hosting a Japanese student for a week.  She was scheduled to take a math placement exam.  I told her I was good at math.  She asked me to help her solve an inverse equation (or something along those lines).  I had no idea what to do!
  • Yes.  I am middle-aged.  Well… almost.   According to World Life Expectancy, the US life expectancy for a Hispanic female is 85.44.  Web MD  states that Hispanic women have the highest life expectancy in the US!

But…  as my sister says, Forty is the new twenty.

  • I’ve matured in many ways.  No.  I am not even close to perfect; but it’s neat to experience and be aware of small victories in areas of tremendous battle in my life.
  • I look back and am able to have a better picture of how God’s graciously directed me and ordered my steps.  It’s all undeserved.
  • I am more aware of my strengths and weaknesses.  There are still many things I am trying to figure out; but for the most part, the future doesn’t seem so mysterious.
  • Even though I have an aging spot on my face, my teeth are crooked and I have a cana, I think I feel prettier than I ever did.  I don’t know why?  Maybe it’s because I’m not trying to prove myself as much anymore.  There is certainly a greater acceptance for how God made me.  I like that.

The last stylist I used in Honduras told me that 40 year-old women should not have long hair.  But guess what?  My hair is the longest it has ever been since I was in middle school!!!!  I don´t care what she thinks.  I will wear my hair long as long as I need to.  It´s OK.  At 40, you are freer to be yourself.

♫ Señora de las cuatro décadas ….♫   Ricardo Arjona, a Guatemalan singer-songwriter, composed this song about a 40 year-old woman he is in love with.  The chorus below is what I most like about this song:

♫  Señora, no le quite años a su vida
Póngale vida a los años que es mejor♫ 

Mrs. (Madam), don´t take years away from your life.  It´s much better to add life to your years.

How old are you?

Praise the Lord, my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
Praise the Lord, my soul, and forget not all his benefits—
who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion,
who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Psalm 103:1-5

IMG_6326

This is my daughter and I on my 40th birthday!!

Leave a Reply

