and Post Election Disorder

Image result for 2016 election

I thought I was registered; but when I checked where I was supposed to vote, my name was not found.  I missed my chance to vote in one of the most controversial elections in my life time.  I had plenty of reminders.  Nevertheless, the days turned into weeks and the weeks into months.  Adjusting to so many new things -sights, sounds, places, people, schedules, responsibilities – all these, became priorities.  And when the time came to vote, I missed my chance. Not that my vote would have really mattered.  My state was not a “swing” state.  Should I have voted, I would have voted for an independent candidate who, at the end of the vote count, obtained very few votes, too few to even notice.  Most people I talked to did not like either main party candidate. Most mainstream media did not report on independent candidates.  Not fair!  Perhaps there was an interview I missed.  Was there?

Tuesday night I stayed up a little later than usual to watch the election news.  But I was just too sleepy to stay up all night, so I went straight to bed.  As I lay down, exhausted, I thought, “no doubt, tomorrow I will wake up to the news of the first woman president in the United States.”  But, I woke up the next morning and to my surprise, Donald Trump had won.  I thought Clinton was unbeatable, unstoppable, untouchable, too powerful to loose.  I was wrong.

To my surprise, my feelings were all over the place.  Here is my account:

  1. Sad.  Hillary Clinton could have been the very first Madam President.  Latin America has had several.  There have already been two in Central America: Violeta Chamorro of Nicaragua and Laura Chinchilla of Costa Rica.  Deep inside, I was hopeful.
  2. Surprised.  I did not expected Donald Trump to win.  Did anyone, really?  The media and the polls were so wrong.
  3. Confused.  I did not understand how Mr. Trump won.  I realized that electoral votes really do matter.  I don’t care for electoral votes; but at the same time, I understand their purpose.  If not for the electoral college, the ones who would really be deciding election outcomes would be the overpopulated, ultra-liberal and secular states of the eastern and western coasts.
  4. Worried.  I wondered what would happen to the thousands of jobs US companies provide to Hondurans in Honduras.  Yes, labor is much much cheaper in Honduras; but people need jobs and a honest way to earn a living.  Many avoid illegal immigration to the US precisely because they have a way to earn an honest living in their own country.  This is a more effective way to of preventing illegal immigration.
  5. Concerned.  As a legal immigrant and a naturalized US Citizen, I have nothing to fear, but I am concerned for those who do live in fear every day.  A Muslim friend expressed her fear of going to Walmart.  “What should I do if someone attacks me?” Very unlikely in our city.  Another friend asked, “What will we do if we can’t use Obamacare anymore?  Real fears.
  6. Angry.  Why were there all these protests with signs that read, “Not my president!”? Isn’t this what democracy is?  You get what you get and you don’t get upset.  I felt angry at those who demand tolerance for all, yet are so intolerant of those who do not think just like they do.
  7. Hopeful and excited.  I don’t believe Mr. Trump will be as lousy a president as we expect him to be.  Perhaps we will be surprised.  Who knows?  We will just have to wait and see.

My four year-old son whispered confidently in my husbands’ ear: “Dad, God is in charge of everything, all people, even presidents.”  So true.  Yet we continue to long for the day when Jesus returns, not as a baby anymore, but as the mighty King of the Universe.  He will make all things right.  I look forward to that day.

During the night the mystery was revealed to Daniel in a vision. Then Daniel praised the God of heaven and said: “Praise be to the name of God for ever and ever; wisdom and power are his.  He changes times and seasons; he deposes kings and raises up others. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning. He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in darkness, and light dwells with him.” Daniel 2:19-22

Leave a Reply

