and Tortillas de Harina

Unfortunately, for the longest time, I had believed the myth that a Honduran woman had to have special hands to be able to make flour tortillas.  And since I grew up in the south-central region of Honduras, I never learned to make flour tortillas.  When I moved up north, I was told by a northern-coastal lady:  “You are not a real  Honduran woman if you do not know how to make flour tortillas.”  But in the seven years of living in the north coast, I never really learned how to make flour tortillas; therefore, I never really felt like I was a true Honduran woman.

But…  I moved back to the United States of America and I HAVE LEARNED HOW TO MAKE FLOUR TORTILLAS!!!!!!  ¡Eso!  One of my dear American friends provided me with the best flour tortilla recipe ever!  Here it is:

Tortillas de Harina

(Click on the link to view the original post with, perhaps, better instructions, from The Café Sucre Farine)

Ingredients:

3 cups of flour (I mixed half whole-wheat and white)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/3 cup oil (I used melted coconut oil)

1 cup warm water

Utensils

2 bowls (1 to mix dry ingredients and 2nd to mix liquids)

Mixing spoon or whisk

Rolling pin (if you have a hard time pressing them with your hands)

Cast iron griddle

Spatula for flipping

Instructions:

  1. Mix flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl
  2. Mix oil and water in a second bowl.
  3. Add dry ingredients slowly to wet ingredients and mix.  I use a whisk or a wooden spoon.  Since I don’t have a bread mixer, I knead the dough using my hands on the counter.  Knead until dough forms into a ball, is smooth and doesn’t stick to your fingers.  I suppose it is much quicker and easier to use an electric mixer with a dough hook.
  4. Once dough ball has formed, divide in half and then in half again until you have about 16 portions.  Form each portion into a ball.
  5. Place each ball in a baking sheet.  Make sure they don’t touch each other.  Cover them with a clean kitchen towel and allow to rest for at least 15 minutes.  I usually allow them to rest inside my oven.
  6. After resting, form the tortillas.  I have cut zip lock bags that I place the ball on.  Then I pat the dough ball flat and try to make it as circular in shape as I can!
  7. I use a cast-iron griddle to cook them.  I set my electric range on medium-high heat.  After flattening the ball with my hands or rolling pin, I place tortilla on hot griddle.  I let it cook for a few seconds.  I flip it the first time.  I let it cook for a bit more until a few bubbles start to form.  Then, I flip it a second time and let it cook for a bit more.  Hopefully, if I have done everything correctly, the second flip will allow the tortilla to puff up.  When they do puff up, we call them “happy tortillas.”

If my instructions are hard to follow, please go to the original post and instructions at: http://thecafesucrefarine.com/2013/08/best-ever-homemade-flour-tortillas/

And now I will never ever again feel like a second class Honduran woman!  Thank you, Café Sucre Farine for teaching me how to make Tortillas de Harina!  I have made them dozens of times, and the results are deliciously consistent.  This recipe works!  And thank  you, Jesus, for granting me the undeserved gift of belonging to your family – not because of what I can do or not do, but simply because of faith!   I need this constant reminder when I feel like I don’t really belong:

“So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. If you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.”

Galatians 3:26-29

2 thoughts on “and Tortillas de Harina

  1. This is so awesome! I definitely want to try this soon! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

